Top 10 2009 Coaches

Ranking coaches properly takes time. There are far too many factors to take into account, thus prioritizing becomes essential.

What I’ve done is simply review the teams from this current season and thought about the impact each one has had. After that it’s just a matter of finding a few stats and committing, despite the potential negative feedback provided via uncomfortable fans.

The following ten(ish) coaches are the guys I’ve found quite impressive–and interesting–over the current season:

1. Brian Kelly (Cincy)

"I'm a little teapot"

2. Mack Brown (Texas)

"They're clean"

3. Gary Patterson (TCU)

"ROARRR!!!"

4. Mike Riley (OrSt)

"Please, do not bow!"

5. Nick Saban (Bama)

He really does...

6. Bronco Mendenhall (BYU)

The Mormonator

7. Jim Harbaugh (Stanford)

"Oh no you DI'INNNTT!"

8. Urban Meyer (Florida)

"Don't you date my daughter, Tebow."

9. Jim Tressel (Ohio State)

"This damn sweater vest itches"

10. Chip Kelly (Oregon)/Steve Sarkisian (Washington)

"I'll have my player hit you instead. But I'm still angry."

"I know, RIGHT??!"

2 Responses to “Top 10 2009 Coaches”

  1. Casson,

    Good list. I’m curious why you have Sark listed here? Sure he’s won some games, but Willingham didn’t exactly leave the cupboard empty.

    • burntorangehorn09 Says:

      It was a debate, to be completely honest. I felt that he deserves some credit. Sure the record isn’t that great, but at the same he’s had an interesting effect in Seattle. My parents are in Seattle, two miles from UW so of course there is some bias here (not afraid to admit that), but I just found him to be a good guy. Winning record next season.

Leave a Reply

